Before the sunrise.

It is still dark,
birds are sleeping,
air in the room is still and cool.
Under layers of sheets I am restless.
This cat curled between us,
is not the furnace I am looking for.

My skin is awake against the cotton,
I can feel the sheets billow as I move,
I slide slow to your back and match your curve.
Hello.
My mind races as the sun starts to invade.
Thoughts of your flesh on mine.
It’s too cold to throw sheets off,
we remain hot under the covers.
I’m curled behind you,
hard and pressed against your cute tush,
you rhythmically nudge back in response.
Not quite awake, but alive and inviting.
No talking, just breathing as I move your top leg,
You reach around,
grab my hip,
and pull me in.

Leave a Reply

