Freckles in the crowd

I am with you in the crowd,
awkward to look at and potentially scary to approach.
A face dotted with freckles backed by an out of place skin tone,
I appear different, but I am just like you.
Nervous at the potential connection, nervous about where the conversation will take us, worried about staying politically correct for myself, my family, and my ounce of faith.
I’ve got lightness, bright as day,
and darkness, a night lit by the stars.
I want to talk about life’s constellations, those things that are rarely seen in sunlight,
because they are afraid of critique, pointed fingers, and judgement out of fear.
These connections are not wrong, they are different.
Different like me, a face dotted with freckles backed by an out of place skin tone.

Leave a Reply

